Minecraft 1.18 Caves and Cliffs Part 2 Update: Features, Release Date, Downloads, & More

With the new version 1.18 update, Minecraft is going all out with a ton of new features for its community. We have new biomes, mobs, and a whole new terrain generation lined up. This update is also going to be the one that brings Minecraft Java and Bedrock Edition closer with identical world generation with the same seeds. There’s a lot to unpack here, and the excitement keeps rising as the 1.18’s release date gets closer. But worry not, our team is ready to cover every important detail you might want to know about the new Minecraft 1.18 Caves and Cliffs part 2 update. We have already covered the best Minecraft 1.18 seeds for you to get ready for the new world generation. Though, that’s not all. With the update just around the corner, let’s take a look at everything you can expect from the new Minecraft 1.18 Caves and Cliffs part 2 update.

The new Minecraft 1.18 update brings 8 new biomes, a new ore generation system, and realistic caves and cliffs, as the name suggests. And these are just the major features that we learned about from Minecraft version 1.17. There are several things to talk about in this article, so let’s first understand the specifics of the update itself before we jump into the new features.

In June 2021, Minecraft released the version 1.17 update called Caves and Cliffs Part 1. It added minor but significant changes in the game, including new blocks, items, mobs, and plants. Expanding on that, the Minecraft 1.18 update majorly focuses on the new overworld and underground terrain generation in the game.

Minecraft is using both of these updates to address complaints about the boring underground exploration and the repetitive stagnant world generation of the overworld. Before the Caves & Cliffs update, Minecraft offered caves that didn’t look any better than random holes in the ground. Similarly, even the cliffs in-game were more or less non-existent.

Mojang and Microsoft decided to address these concerns and use the two Cliffs & Caves updates as a chance to make big changes in-game. A major example of such big changes is the addition of 8 new biomes in Minecraft 1.18. Unfortunately, there are a few new additions, like a Deep Dark biome, that got pushed to the 1.19 update due to development delays. Even without them, Minecraft 1.18 is still an update no one should miss out on.

As per the latest official announcement, Minecraft 1.18 is going to be released on November 30, 2021. Consulting the release time of the previous edition, you can expect the update to go live between 10:00 am EST (7:00 am PST/ 8:30 pm IST) to 1:00 pm EST (10:00 am PST/ 11:30 pm IST).

Do keep in mind that the release time is the same for all editions of the game, but there can be delays depending upon the traffic on each platform’s server.

With the new 1.18 update, Minecraft is leaving behind a majority of older generations of the consoles, including Xbox 360, PS3, and others. As for PC users, you can expect the Java edition to work on macOS High Sierra or Windows 8 and previous versions too, but not at its peak quality.

Next Post Previous Post